Frequently asked questions
(ACÉPO – AFOCSC)

This FAQ has been created to encourage parents to enrol their children in a French-language school and to encourage them to get involved, not just in the education of their children, but in the education of all children, through the school council, extracurricular activities, and the school board.

Do you mean to say that the school doesn’t make all of the decisions?

No, not really. At one time, they did and, in some countries, they still do. But, in Canada, that’s changed. Parents now have the privilege of playing an active role in their child’s education—and their child is at the centre of this process. However, every child needs the school, parents, and organizations in the community to work together as partners in order to be successful. In the Franco-Ontarian school system, parents play a vital role in the life of the school. Their opinions are important; they inform decisions on discipline, the operation of the school, and school work (based on the child’s interests, strengths, and challenges).

Why does the school need me?

First, to monitor your child’s progress and to help him or her to improve. Second, to provide the school with as much information as possible about your child’s interests, strengths, and challenges. This information will help teachers, the school principal and other education specialists to provide your child with the support and supervision he or she needs. Third, because when you share your culture you’re your knowledge, it is enriching for the other students, the other parents, and even the teachers. Some parents supervise children in the lunchroom or during recess (often they are paid to do this). Others help the teachers directly (by reading to students, accompanying them on school outings, and coming to the school to talk about their country of origin).

What is this parent committee or school council?

What we call a school council is called a parent association or parent committee in some countries. Here, it’s really important to get involved. The school council is where key decisions are made about the life of the school.

The school council is an advisory body that is made up primarily of parents (like you). Its job is to help improve the environment at the school. The parents who attend elect individuals who will represent them during the school year. The parents make recommendations to the school principal and the school board. The school council also organizes activities for the children. Here is how two school boards talk about parent participation:

a.  What do I have to do? What will my role be?

First, you will advise the school principal on anything concerning the welfare of the children in the school. You will participate in (monthly) meetings of this school council (parent committee). You may participate as a member or, if you wish, you may stand for election as a member of the leadership team for the school year. Parents who are members of the school council also have opportunities to organize great projects for the school (such as a multicultural fair, watering the community garden, fundraising, and a mini-book fair.)

b.  Am I qualified to be a member of the school council?

Of course you are! Any parent (father, mother, guardian) of a child registered at the school can belong to the school council. When it comes to your child, you are the expert! You have the qualifications by virtue of being a parent. What is more, your life experience will be a source of enrichment for the other parents and for the entire school.

c. Will I have the right to speak and to give my opinion?

Any parent who wishes to give their opinion may do so and these opinions are generally well received. For example, Mr. Omar suggested that the school attended by his children organize a multicultural fair each year. In the school attended by her children, Ms. Makoto suggested the creation of an after-school homework club to help students having difficulty with mathematics, which was very well received. All suggestions that promote the school and the welfare of the students are welcome.

d. What if what I say is out of line?

No one is perfect. The purpose of parent meetings is to gather ideas and points of view on a multitude of topics. Generally speaking, before meetings, parents receive documentation explaining the topics that will be discussed. Don’t hesitate to share things that you like and things that concern you. Every parent can have a say. The more parents participate in this type of structure, the more quickly they develop expertise.

e. Will I be well received by the other parents?

It is important to remember that the students—and parents—in our schools come from a wide range of cultures and backgrounds. As a result, you may be received differently than in your country of origin. However, that doesn’t mean you are not welcome. Some parents will take the initiative of approaching you. Others will wait to get to know you better. However, all will be glad that you are there because you all share a common goal: ensuring that the children who attend the school are happy and productive.

We don’t speak French or English. Why should we choose a French-language school?

To enable your children to become bilingual and have a better future. Students attending a French-language school have an opportunity to master French and, at the same time, develop a comparable level of proficiency in English.

Acquisition of the French language is a rare asset in North America, where people learn English almost by osmosis. Canada has two official languages; as a result, bilingual individuals have more training and career opportunities than unilingual individuals. French-language schools offer a real edge: they train students in French, while ensuring that they also learn English. Your child will have better access to good training and comparatively better career opportunities than a unilingual child. Offering your child the privilege of mastering the French language is a wise and pragmatic choice.

The English-language education system does not have admission committees. Why is there an admission committee to register our children in a French-language school, but not to register them in an English-language school?

The admission committee is part of the regular administrative process. It is not a form of discrimination; it is an effective means of ensuring that the French-language school — a rare asset in North America — is primarily made available to families who meet the statutory requirements (which probably include you). The admission committee arrives at a clear understanding of your child’s background and schooling to date, as well as his or her needs and any services that will be necessary to address these needs.

In our country of origin, private schools are better than public schools. Is this true in Canada, too?

Not necessarily. In Canada, public schools are free and are funded by the government. They are administered by elected citizens (such as you) and ranked regularly (on a regional, provincial, national, and international level). Our teachers are highly qualified, we use leading-edge technology, and our curriculum reflects advancements in the modern world. Our schools rank very well, with high graduation rates and scores that exceed the provincial standards in reading, writing, science, and mathematics.

Why does Ontario have two different French-language education systems? How are they similar? How are they different?

According to the Association franco-ontarienne des conseils scolaires catholiques, both systems have essentially the same curriculum, with one exception: in the French-language Catholic schools, the Christian values of the Roman Catholic Church are taught and are a part of the curriculum. The students’ spiritual development is a partnership between the home, the school, and the Church.

According to the Association des conseils scolaires des écoles publiques de l'Ontario, religious practices are not a part of the curriculum, although courses on various world religions are. Just like in the Catholic schools, moral  and civic values that are integrated into various programs of study in Ontario are taught.

We speak French fluently at home. Why not just enrol our children in an English-language school, so that they learn English as a second language?

In a French-language school, your child will master French and English; it has not been shown that the reverse is true. Your children will learn English through daily exposure. Students in a French-language school take English courses starting in Grade 4. By Grade 12, they are as proficient in English as students who have attended an English-language school.

For the past several years, the students attending French-language schools have scored higher than the students attending English-language schools on the provincial tests in reading, writing, and mathematics.

In addition to the great education and employment opportunities available to bilingual students, your child will be exposed to cultural content that showcases Ontario’s diverse Francophone community. While the French language is a vehicle for learning and communication, it is also a way to transmit your pride, values, and cultural identity.

I get the impression that there are a lot of procedures here. Do you have a chart that shows the roles and relationships between parents, schools, and school boards? (People and groups)

You’re right: it is very structured. That’s because structure makes everyone’s job easier (including yours).

Designation Description Role / Tasks Relationships
Individual Parent
Natural parent
Adoptive parent
Court-appointed guardian
  • Helping child with homework
  • Corresponding with the school
  • If possible, participating in activities in the classroom or the school
  • Child
  • Teacher(s)
  • School principal
  • Parents on the school council
School Council
Parent volunteers
  • Making suggestions to the school principal
  • Organizing fun activities for the school
  • Organizing fundraising activities for the class or school
  • Individual parents
  • School principal
  • School teachers
School Board
Parent volunteers who are elected by the public during school elections
  • Negotiating funding with the Ontario Ministry of Education
  • Supervising school administration
  • Schools in the school board
  • The Ministry of Education
  • The school councils
  • The teachers’ unions

How do the schools ensure that new students are safe, treated fairly, and included?

Our school system is safe and secure. Ontario has introduced mechanisms to ensure that students are treated fairly in terms of:

  • Behaviour: Ontario has introduced a provincial code to promote student respect and well-being. Schools adapt and apply this code either to reinforce positive behaviour or as a gradual disciplinary system.
  • Safety: our schools are constantly being renovated and if there is the slightest risk of aggression (inside or outside the school), safety measures are quickly deployed.
  • Equity: the Ministry of Education has introduced the Equity and Inclusive Education Strategy to fight bullying, racism, homophobia, etc. (www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/teachers/safeschools.html).
  • Inclusion: The Programme d’appui des nouveaux arrivants is a program for the admission, welcoming, and accompaniment of students who are newcomers to Canada. This program supports their integration into Canadian society (www.edu.gov.on.ca/fre/teacher/PANAchart.pdf).

What does the elected school board do?

The school board is made up of elected officials who are responsible for student success and school governance. These parents are all elected. They keep a watchful eye over the operation of the schools on behalf of the public. The school board is divided into committees; meetings are open to the public. The school board has a mandate to make the best possible use of public funds, while enabling the schools to be viable and effective so that students can flourish and reach their full potential.

What do individual school board members (trustees) do?

Each trustee is responsible for ensuring that the school board operates appropriately over its entire territory. Each trustee represents the interests of the schools and the communities at the board table. They may sit on, and provide counsel to, a committee or committees (special education, audit committee, appeal committee hearing cases of student suspension or expulsion). Trustees are also a link between you and the school board.

How do I enrol my child in a French-language school?

You can enrol your child in a French-language school at any time. During the summer, we recommend that you contact the school board directly, because the schools are closed. Usually, the French-language school nearest you will give you an appointment for assessing your child’s language skills.

In addition to completing a registration form, you will be asked to provide the following documentation: your child’s birth certificate, school records, immunization record, proof of your legal status in Canada (with proof of residency) and, if necessary, a court order for custody. A certificate of baptism may also be required for registration in a Catholic school. An admission committee will meet fairly quickly after that. It will make a decision (approval or refusal of registration) that is in the best interests of all concerned.

Students who are of age (19 years) may present their own application for registration.

Foire aux questions
(ACÉPO – AFOCSC)

La Foire aux questions a pour objet d’encourager les parents à inscrire leurs enfants dans les écoles de langue française et de les encourager à s’engager et à s’impliquer non seulement dans l’éducation de leur enfant (leurs enfants) mais de tous les élèves via le conseil d’école, les activités parascolaires et le conseil scolaire.

C'est pas l'école qui décide de tout ?

Pas vraiment. C’est vrai qu’en d’autres temps et dans certains pays, ce sont les enseignants qui décidaient de tout concernant l’éducation de votre enfant. Au Canada, c’est différent. Le parent a le privilège d’être un acteur actif dans l’éducation de son enfant (considéré comme étant au centre de  tout). Mais, pour faciliter sa réussite, il a besoin que l’école, ses parents, les organismes communautaires … travaillent tous en partenariat. Dans le système scolaire franco-ontarien, les parents ont un rôle capital dans la vie scolaire de leurs enfants. Leurs avis sont importants pour les décisions concernant la discipline, le fonctionnement de l’école et les travaux scolaires (en fonction des intérêts, des forces et des difficultés de  l’enfant).

Pourquoi a-t-on besoin de moi ?

D’abord pour suivre le travail de votre enfant et l’aider à s’améliorer. Ensuite, pour donner le maximum d’informations à l’école concernant les intérêts, les forces et les difficultés de votre enfant. Ces données aident les enseignants, la direction d’école et d’autres spécialistes à bien encadrer votre enfant. De plus, vous pouvez offrir aux autres élèves, aux autres parents ou même aux enseignants la richesse de votre culture et de vos connaissances. Certains parents surveillent les élèves (souvent contre paiement) lors du dîner ou dans la cour de récréation. D’autres aident directement les enseignants (en faisant la lecture aux élèves, en les accompagnant lors des sorties scolaires, en présentant leur pays d’origine).

C'est quoi ce comité de parents ou conseil d’école ?

Le conseil d’école est ce qu’on appelle l’association des parents ou le comité de parents dans certains pays. Ici, il est très important de s’y  impliquer. C’est au sein de ce conseil que les grandes décisions concernant la vie de l’école se prennent.

C’est un organe consultatif constitué majoritairement de parents de l’école (comme vous-mêmes) et dont le mandat est d’aider à l’amélioration du milieu scolaire de votre enfant. Les parents présents élisent un bureau qui va les représenter pendant l’année scolaire. Les parents font des recommandations à la direction d’école et au conseil scolaire. Le conseil d’école organise aussi des activités touchant au bien-être des élèves.

Exemple d’information pour la participation des parents :

a. Qu'est-ce que je dois faire ou quel est mon rôle ?

D’abord de conseiller la direction d’école sur tout ce qui concerne le bien-être des élèves de l’école. Il vous faudra aussi participer aux réunions (mensuelles) de ce conseil d’école (comité de parents). Vous pouvez participer comme membre simple et si vous le souhaitez, vous pouvez proposer votre candidature pour être dans l’équipe dirigeante pendant l’année scolaire.  Les parents au conseil d’école peuvent coordonner de beaux petits projets pour l’école (organisation d’une foire multiculturelle, arrosage du jardin communautaire, levée de fonds, organisation d’une mini-foire du livre).

b. Suis-je assez compétent pour le faire ?

Bien entendu. Tout parent (père,  mère, tuteur) d’un enfant inscrit à l’école peut faire partie du conseil d’école. On est toujours le plus compétent quand il s’agit de nos propres enfants. Vous avez la compétence minimale exigée : c’est celle d’être un parent. En plus, votre parcours de vie sera un vrai enrichissement pour les autres parents et pour l’école toute entière.

c. Est-ce que j'ai le droit de parler et de donner mon avis ?

Chaque parent qui le souhaite partagera son opinion, qui en général est très bien reçue. M. Omar avait par exemple proposé qu’une fête multiculturelle soit organisée chaque année dans l’école de ses enfants. Par contre, Mme Makoto (dans l’école de ses enfants) avait soumis une idée fort applaudie qu’un club de devoirs soit instauré dans l’école après les heures de classes pour aider les élèves ayant des difficultés en mathématiques. Toutes les idées pour faire avancer l’école et le bien-être des enfants sont donc les bienvenues.

d. Est-ce que je ne vais pas dire n'importe quoi ?

Personne n’est parfaite et justement, les réunions des parents permettent d’avoir une multitude d’idées et de points de vue sur plusieurs dossiers différents. Généralement, avant les réunions, les parents reçoivent des documents qui leur expliquent ce qui sera discuté. N’hésitez pas à parler de vos satisfactions ou de vos inquiétudes. Tout parent peut donc avoir son mot à dire. Plus on participe à ce genre de structure et plus vite on devient une sorte d’expert.

e. Est-ce que je vais être bien reçu par les autres parents ?

N’oublions pas que dans nos écoles, les origines culturelles des élèves et donc des parents sont nombreuses et diverses. L’accueil peut par conséquent être différent de celui de votre pays d’origine, mais cela ne veut pas dire qu’ils ne veulent pas de vous. Certains parents feront le premier pas vers vous. D’autres attendront de mieux vous connaître, mais tous seront ravis de votre présence. Vous êtes liés par un besoin commun : travailler à l’épanouissement de vos enfants respectifs dans la même école.

On ne parle ni français, ni anglais, pourquoi choisir l'école de langue française ?

Pour permettre à vos enfants d’être bilingues et d’avoir un meilleur avenir. Les élèves des écoles françaises ont la chance de bien maitriser le français et en même temps d’être à un niveau comparable de maitrise de l’anglais.

L’acquisition du français est une denrée rare en Amérique du nord, alors que l’anglais s’apprend presque par contagion. Le Canada est un pays qui a deux langues officielles et offre par conséquent plus d’opportunités de formation et de carrière aux personnes bilingues qu’aux personnes unilingues. Les écoles françaises offrent un très gros avantage : elles forment les enfants en français tout en s’assurant qu’ils apprennent aussi l’anglais. Votre enfant aura plus de chance d’entreprendre de bonnes formations et de décrocher un emploi comparativement meilleur que celui d’une personne unilingue. Il est sage et efficace d’offrir pour toujours à votre enfant ce privilège de la maitrise du français.

Dans les systèmes anglais, il n'y a pas de comité d'admission. Pourquoi faut-il un comité d’admission pour inscrire nos enfants dans les écoles de langue française et pas en anglais ?

Le comité d’admission fait partie du processus administratif normal. Il ne s’agit pas d’une mesure discriminatoire, mais plutôt un bon moyen pour garantir que l’école francophone, denrée rare en Amérique du nord, est offerte prioritairement aux familles répondant aux critères de la loi (comme vous probablement). Le comité d’admission permet de comprendre le cheminement de votre enfant, ses acquis scolaires, ses besoins et les services qui seront mis à sa disposition le cas échéant.

Est-ce que l'école publique est moins bonne que l'école privée comme dans nos pays d'origine ?

Pas forcément. Les écoles publiques sont gratuites et financées par le gouvernement, gérées par des citoyens élus (comme vous) et évaluées régulièrement (sur le plan régional, provincial, national et international). Ici, les enseignants sont très qualifiés, la technologie est à la pointe et le curriculum est actualisé pour intégrer les évolutions du monde moderne. D’ailleurs, les écoles obtiennent de très hauts résultats, ont un taux de diplomation élevé, et dépassent les normes provinciales en écriture, en lecture, en sciences et en mathématiques.

Pourquoi en Ontario y a-t-il deux systèmes provinciaux de langue française? Qu'est-ce qui est commun ? Qu'est-ce qui est différent ?

Selon l'Association franco-ontarienne des conseils scolaires catholiques, le curriculum dans les deux systèmes est essentiellement le même.  La différence est que dans les écoles catholiques de langue française, les valeurs chrétiennes de l’Église catholique romaine  sont enseignées et font parties du curriculum.  Le cheminement spirituel des élèves est un partenariat entre le foyer, l’école et l’église.

Selon l'Association des conseils scolaires des écoles publiques de l'Ontario, pour ce qui est du curriculum, on y enseigne des cours sur les diverses religions mondiales mais  aucune pratique religieuse ne fait partie du curriculum. Les valeurs morales et civiques, intégrés à divers programmes-cadres de l’Ontario, y sont enseignées, tout comme dans le système catholique.

Nous parlons déjà bien le français à la maison. Alors pourquoi ne pas inscrire nos enfants dans les écoles de langue anglaise pour qu'ils apprennent l'anglais comme langue seconde?

Les écoles de langue française développent chez l’enfant la maîtrise du français et de l’anglais, alors que l’inverse n’est pas vérifié. Même par la vie quotidienne, vos enfants apprendront l’anglais.

D’ailleurs, à partir de la 4e année, les élèves des écoles françaises suivent des cours d’anglais et ont un niveau d’anglais équivalent en 12e année à celui d’élèves ayant fréquenté dans les écoles anglophones.

Depuis quelques années, les élèves inscrits dans des écoles de langue française performent mieux en lecture, en écriture et en mathématiques aux tests provinciaux que les élèves des écoles des conseils de langue anglaise.

En plus de bonnes perspectives d’éducation et d’emploi dues au bilinguisme, votre enfant sera exposé à une pédagogie culturelle mettant en valeur la francophonie plurielle de l’Ontario. La langue française est certes un moyen d’apprentissage et de communication, mais aussi le vecteur de la transmission de votre fierté, de vos valeurs et de votre identité culturelle.

J'ai l'impression qu'il y a beaucoup de processus et de procédures ici. Avez-vous un organigramme général pour présenter les liens et rôles entre les parents, les écoles et les conseils scolaires ? (Personnes et groupes)

C’est vrai qu’il y’a beaucoup d’ordre et de sérieux ici. C’est bien ainsi et cela facilite le travail de chacun (parent compris).

Désignation Rôle / tâches Interlocuteurs
Parent individuel
Naturel, par adoption ou par
décision d’une cour de justice
  • Aider son enfant avec ses travaux
  • Correspondre avec l’école
  • Si possible participer aux activités de la classe ou de l’école
  • Enfant
  • Enseignant(e)
  • Direction d’école
  • Parents du conseil d’école
Conseil d’école
Les parents volontaires de l’école
  • Faire des suggestions à la direction d’école
  • Organiser des activités ludiques pour l’école
  • Organiser des activités de levée de fonds pour la classe ou pour l’école.
  • Parents individuellement
  • Directions d’école
  • Enseignants de l’école
Conseil scolaire
Les parents volontaires élus
par la population lors
d’élections scolaires
  • Négocier le financement avec le Ministère de l’éducation de l’Ontario
  • Superviser la gestion des écoles
  • Les écoles du conseil
  • Ministère de l’éducation
  • Les conseils d’école.
  • Les syndicats enseignants

Comment est-ce que les écoles veillent à la sécurité, à l'équité et à l'inclusion des nouveaux élèves ?

Notre système scolaire est sain et sécuritaire et l’Ontario a mis en place des mécanismes pour permettre à ses élèves d’être épanouis à l’école :

  • Au niveau du comportement : l’Ontario a mis en place un code de vie provincial pour promouvoir le respect et le bien-être des élèves. Les écoles l’adaptent et  appliquent soit le SCP (soutien au comportement positif), soit le concept de discipline progressive.
  • Au niveau de la sécurité : nos écoles sont constamment rénovées et des mesures d’intervention rapides sont déployées s’il y’a un moindre risque d’agression (dans l’école ou hors de l’école).
  • Au niveau de l’équité : le ministère de l’éducation a mis en place une stratégie ontarienne d’équité et d’éducation inclusive pour lutter contre l’intimidation, le racisme, l’homophobie…etc. (www.edu.gov.on.ca/fre/teachers/safeschools.html)
  • Au niveau de l’inclusion : le PANA (programme d’appui des nouveaux arrivants) vise l’admission, l’accueil et l’accompagnement des élèves issus de l’immigration, afin de faciliter leur intégration au Canada (www.edu.gov.on.ca/fre/teacher/PANAchart.pdf)

La sécurité, l’équité et l’inclusion sont incorporées dans les règles de vie de l’école et mises en œuvre par tous les acteurs (personnel enseignant, élèves, parents, communauté).

Que fait le conseil scolaire élu ?

Le conseil scolaire est une assemblée d’électeurs responsable de la réussite des élèves et de la gestion scolaire. Ces parents sont tous élus et représentent en quelque sorte l’œil du public sur le fonctionnement des écoles. Le conseil scolaire est divisé en comités et ses séances sont publiques. Le mandat du conseil scolaire est de faire une utilisation optimale des ressources du public pour permettre aux écoles d’être viables et efficaces afin que les élèves soient épanouis et atteignent leur plein potentiel.

Que fait chaque membre du conseil scolaire (conseillères et conseillers scolaires) ?

Chaque conseillère/conseiller scolaire est d’abord responsable de la bonne marche du conseil scolaire sur tout le territoire de celui-ci. Il présente les intérêts des écoles et des communautés à la table du conseil scolaire. Elle/il peut s’impliquer dans un ou plusieurs comités (enfance en difficulté; comité de vérification; comité d’appel sur les suspensions ou les renvois d’élèves) pour y donner ses avis. La conseillère ou le conseiller scolaire est aussi un lien entre vous et le conseil scolaire.

Qu'est-ce qu'il faut faire pour inscrire son enfant dans une école de langue française ?

Il est possible d’inscrire votre enfant en tout temps de l’année. Pendant l’été, il vaut mieux communiquer avec le conseil scolaire directement, puisque les écoles sont fermées. Habituellement, l’école de langue française de votre secteur d’habitation vous donnera un rendez-vous pour évaluer les aptitudes langagières de votre enfant.

En plus de remplir un formulaire d’inscription, vous devrez fournir les documents suivants : certificat de naissance de l’enfant, le dossier scolaire de l’enfant, son carnet d’immunisation, une preuve de votre statut légal au Canada (avec preuve de résidence) et si nécessaire une ordonnance de jugement relative à la garde. Un certificat de baptême pourrait aussi être exigé pour l’inscription dans une école catholique. Un comité d’admission se tient assez vite et produit une décision (acceptation d’inscription ou refus) dans l’intérêt de toutes les parties concernées.

L’élève majeur (19 ans) pourrait lui-même présenter sa demande.